There is something so wonderful about the first day of holidays. It reminds me of that “released from the classroom” feeling that I remember from childhood. We had a good day, relaxing and semi-productive. At the moment Tyson is sitting on the couch beside me watching “The Lucy Show” on dvd. He loves the old shows: Andy Griffith, The Waltons, Bonanza, Red Skelton. The little boys are building a house in the basement. I’m not sure what is involved in that enterprise but it involves a lot of blankets and chairs. I have promised them hot chocolate and a Christmas movie in a little while.

Lyndon is supposed to get home tonight. He is having supper with his mom and dad.

Carter wanted a stretchy sandwich for lunch today. I needed clarification, and was informed that it was a jam sandwich made with the soft bread that I have been buying lately. Apparently, it squiches nicely to make a flat, pancake-like sandwich.

Colton, Carter, and I had to go to the doctor’s office this afternoon for our Hepatitis A and B shots. The doctor was running late so we went to “Toes’s place” for a snack. This is our local coffee shop, run by Toes but actually called Cafe Paris. The boys had hot chocolate and chocolate chip cookies and I had a latte. Yum. Carter is so comfortable there. Before I knew it he was in the kitchen asking for an ice cube to cool down his hot chocolate.

Back at the doctor’s office we all bravely endured our shots. Carter asked Dr. Pillay if he could please have the kind of needle that doesn’t hurt. Colton just squeezed his eyes closed and was surprised that it didn’t hurt as much as he was expecting.

Tomorrow is going to be a baking day. I am trying to use up the food we have in the house before we leave, so the boys are feeling a little deprived. I’ll make some muffins, and maybe we’ll have pancakes for breakfast.

