If I could take a winter holiday, March is the month I would choose to vamoose. I find March a rather depressing month. Spring is still a long way off (at least in Saskatchewan). I shouldn’t complain, though. I am going to a mineral spa for a ladies’ retreat next week. I am looking forward to the down time, girl time, spiritual renewal time.

Tonight was our small group study. We are still going through the attitudes book. Tonight we discussed the chapter Replace a Doubting Attitude…  According to James MacDonald, “doubt is a lack of confidence or assurance that God will keep His promises”. Throughout the book, MacDonald uses the Children of Israel’s journey to the promised land as his main example. In the case of doubt, he referred to the twelve spies sent to assess the Canaan situation. Ten returned with the doom and gloom report; two returned saying God is with us, let’s go for it. You know how it goes– the people got scared and God sent them back to wander in the wilderness for forty more years. The thing is, the two faithful spies had to endure the forty year sentence too. Hmmm. Faithfulness is not formulaic. Sometimes things just don’t go the way you think they should.

Tonight Carter asked if he could sleep with me until he goes to heaven. I said he would have to sleep in his own bed sometime. He’s considering the implications.

