I am up early this morning. The house is quiet. I can hear the birds singing outside. I have hamburger cooking on the stove, and fresh coffee brewing on the kitchen counter. The family is still asleep. Ahhhh.

I used to be a morning person. I used to love getting up early, having a cup of coffee, maybe going out for breakfast somewhere. That all changed when I had kids. I am no longer a morning person, at least I haven’t been one for many years. This morning I feel like a morning person again.

Yesterday, Lyndon went to Regina in our old chev truck, and drove home in our “new” Dodge Cummins Turbo Diesel 4X4. He is so excited about it. Personally, I don’t get that excited about vehicles. But it is fun to watch him. Words like torque (sp?) and flywheel have been a major part of our conversation since yesterday afternoon. I know it is killing him that he has to leave The Dodge here and take the wimpy car back to Weyburn this week. (Whenever you see the words “The Dodge” you should hear them pronounced in your mind in an echoing, deep, biblical kind of a voice.)

We were invited out for supper last night, so I had my first driving lesson. I do know how to drive, mind you. But this was my Dodge driving lesson. We took the back road so I could practice on gravel. I practiced shifting up and shifting down. Lyndon said that when I get really good (like him) I will be able to shift without using the clutch. I tried to keep the revs above 1200, and shift when they got to 2000. “Wow,” I said to Lyndon. “This thing really has a lot of torque.”

Lyndon just got up and came in to say good morning. “Did you know we have a Dodge Cummins Turbo Diesel in our driveway?” he asked, before he went downstairs for a shower. I’m really happy for him.

This afternoon we are expecting Lyndon’s cousin Kent and a friend for lunch. (The reason for the hamburger cooking on the stove.) I think Kent is going to help Lyndon finish repairing the front deck. It will be nice to step out the front door without fear of crashing through the rotten decking.

Well, I need to go and start getting myselft ready for church. Lyndon just came back upstairs. “Janelle, did you know there’s still a Dodge Cummins Turbo Diesel in our driveway?” Smile, and nod… smile, and nod.

