…or dialup, or dial-up, or however you spell it. I have been fighting with my computer for a week, and things are still not quite right. I am sorely tempted to call the guy who sells the satellite internet service. He’s been sending me colourful postcards in the mail for quite some time now. The thing is, I know that when I call him the price of the service will increase because I will need this and that and… Although I am, as I said, sorely tempted. (Why “sorely” tempted? Because I will be “sore” if I give in to the temptation? Hmm.)

Thanks to those of you who have been checking in, even though the posts have been scarce these days.

I didn’t finish my Labour Day Weekend update, although by now I can hardly remember what we did. Oh yeah: camping, wedding, rain. It was all great, except for the minor stroke that our friend Helen had while we were there. She seems to be doing okay now. The wedding went well. Saw lots of relatives. The bride was beautiful, of course. And the groom was nervous. As it should be.

My aunt, mother of the groom, is hilarious. She NEVER dresses up, so shopping for a dress for the wedding was apparently a stressful event. As she tells it, she went with a friend and started loading up on different outfits. When she went into the changing room to start trying them on, there was an outfit hanging in the room already. It turned out to be the one she bought. Kelly left it there for me, she said, because she knows how much I hate shopping for clothes. My cousin Kelly was killed tragically several years ago.

We did end up with rain the last day we were there, but we just tucked ourselves in and watched movies (we eventually learned how to work the dvd player) and napped.

I wasn’t keen on returning through the previously mention road construction, so we went home by way of Regina. I had wanted to get to Regina anyway, to take the kids to a display put on by World Vision. Called One Life, it was an interactive representation of an aids-riddled African village. We followed the journey of Timothy as he watched his mother and father die, and was diagnosed himself with aids. At the end of the tour, we were invited to write a note to put up on a bulletin board. I was so touched by the way my kids were touched. Tyson’s note was beautiful. He is not as prone as the other boys to share his deeper feelings. He wrote about being stunned by what he had learned, and asked God’s blessing on Timothy and the other African children. Made his mother cry.

After our meandering travels, we arrived back home on Tuesday night, only to wake up Wednesday to get back in the car. We all had dentist appointments in Assiniboia. The boys did school in the car, again.

Lyndon got home Friday night, tired. They had to lift transmission lines for a dragline move near Estevan. It sounded like a yucky job in the rain. He was glad to be home for a few days. The weekend went by quickly. We actually hung a few pictures. After all, we’ve only been here four years. We found this cool velcro stuff that you stick on the wall and on the picture. Works great on our plaster walls.

Lyndon and I started teaching the older elementary Sunday School class. They are a fun group. We are doing a unit on the ten Commandments.

Alright, I feel better. Dial up isn’t so bad. It could be worse, right. It is, after all, one of those First World problems. I could be living in a village in Africa where, I am sure, the internet would be the last thing on my mind.

