I have been asked a couple of times lately why we choose not to have television in our home. There are actually a few reasons, some of which are not as righteous as you might expect. Here they are:

1. The main reason I don’t have television in the home is the same reason, frankly, that I don’t keep Snickers bars around. Because I am pathetic. I am a weak, sad person with little self-control about some things. Hence the “remove the temptation” approach.

2. I absolutely detest commercials. Can’t stand them. I despise the marketing of products and immorality and all the other garbage that commercials represent. So even a good show is marred by the non-option of having to sit through the “buy this/think  that” onslaught.

3. I want my kids to be as unaffected by popular culture, peer pressure, marketing pressure, as possible. I know, I know. Trust me, I know. I can’t shield them and protect them from all the bad things in the world. I just think that there is plenty of crap out there for them to experience without being bombarded by the media version of it every day.

4. This is sort of the same as the previous point but, basically, I hope my kids will grow into the people they are meant to be. I hope they like the music they like, and choose the activities that interest them, and work at the things that they are designed to work at without the influence of what is cool, or trendy, or popular. Again, I can’t completely remove them from the world’s inluences, nor would I want to. It is important to be challenged. But there are already enough cultural challenges available out there, I think.

So there you have it in a nutshell. No television. We are, however, a movie family. We will often sit down in the evening to watch a movie or, most recently, a few episodes of  The Partridge Family. I found Season 1 of this classic(?) at our local second hand store. Come on get happy! The kids find these old shows hilarious. I actually consider them almost educational.  Look at that huge telephone. Did you actually go out in public wearing clothes like that? Did you guys really say groovy? and outasight? and far out?

A final disclaimer. I’ve found that when I say something about not having television it can make someone who has television feel judged or defensive. Believe me, no judgement is implied or intended. I have tons of friends who have television and they are completely fine. In fact, most of my friends are much better people in general than I am! They’re awesome! Groovy, even! So, no judgement. It’s just the way we do it.

