I know I’ve mentioned this before, but I’ve been reading through Genesis lately. One expression that I’ve read several times in this oh-so-incredible book is … and he was gathered to his people.

This is the expression the author of the book uses when someone dies. It struck me so profoundly that I did a little reading about it. And I think it means exactly what it says. When Abraham died his body was buried, but he was gathered to his people. It sounds a bit like a family reunion.

There is a wonderful woman I know who is close to joining that reunion. It seems that she is about to be gathered to her people. I’ve been thinking about her all day. I know her people here will miss her very much. I think of her husband and children and grandchildren and friends, and I know they are sad and hurting. I am sad with them and for them.

I pray that God will comfort them as He gathers her.

