I am one of those rare people who likes Mondays. I like the new start, the fresh beginning, the notion of a week ahead and the potential it holds. The possibilities.

I am also a homeschooling mom. I have three boys who, sad to say, do not really love Mondays. At least not like I love them. So, one of my goals for the upcoming school year is to bring joy to Monday. To make the transition from the weekend to the week a little easier on everyone. I’m starting with a clean kitchen.

I have a friend who insists that she loves to clean. Now, I’m not going to say she’s lying, but … really? You LOVE to clean? I enjoy her philosophy. It’s simple, she says. The tasks are basic and the payoff is wonderful. There’s no life or death or drama involved in cleaning. (I know she means what she says, and I’ve been blessed by her clean home many times!)

I do like this approach. I’ve tried to adopt this. But, I still haven’t developed a passion for cleaning. I am, however, a big fan of clean. As in, uncluttered, useable, inspirational, hygienic space. It’s a challenge, I’ll admit. My kids are home all day, every day. And, if you know me at all you know that organization is not one of my natural strengths. But God promises to use me in my weakness. So I’m working on it. And one of the ways I’m doing that is with my clean kitchen strategy.

My goal is simple. To start Monday mornings with a clean, ready-to-go kitchen. Throw in a good breakfast, a little prayer, and a happy mom, and I think we will be off to a good start.

Blessings on your Monday. Blessings on your week.

**********

Sharing blessings today with this community:

69. Monday morning, full of promise

70. crisp, fall-feeling breeze

71. smell of pancakes cooking

72. morning hugs

73. a new book, waiting for me

74. a brand new, sharp pencil

75. a clean kitchen

76. kittens calling for breakfast from the deck

77. sleepy, morning-fresh boys

78. thank you’s voiced after breakfast

