My third child was born after the crib and the change table and the stroller had all been sold. He is four years younger than his next oldest brother, which won’t matter much down the road, but right now it’s like a generation gap. His two older brothers have always had each other to hang out with. They are best friends. And it’s not like they don’t like their little brother, or try to include him in things. He’s just a lot younger than they are. It makes it challenging at times.

What has been happening lately is that Dad will take the older boys to an event that is suitable for their age group, and Carter will be left at home. With Mom. So my goal, for these times that it is just him and me, is to make these times as meaningful as possible.

Donald Miller actually gave me one idea about this. I read somewhere, I think on his blog, this advice: If you want to live an interesting story, create memorable scenes.

Since reading this advice, I’ve been more conscious of the scene staging in the movies I watch. Try it. Notice how many conversations take place in unique, interesting settings, like the lobby of a museum or on top of a building. In other words, placing something rather commonplace in an interesting setting, makes the commonplace thing more interesting and therefore more memorable.

This past weekend, Lyndon took Tyson and Colton and a friend to Winnipeg for a youth rally. Carter was too young to attend, so he stayed home with me. On Friday night, he asked if we could have a sleepover in the living room. He wanted to bring down the blankets, cuddle on the couches, and watch movies until we fell asleep.

So, last Friday night we watched Diary of a Wimpy Kid II, and Percy Jackson and the Lightening Thief. And fell asleep, he on the loveseat and me on the couch. It was sweet, and hopefully something he will remember when grows up.

This week, consider creating some memorable scenes for you or your family.

