Left Neglected by Lisa Genova is a beautiful, funny, absorbing book. I loved discussing it with my book club last week. While nibbling on lovely appetizers and sipping pumpkin spice lattes, all topped off with lime cheesecake, we found lots to share as we considered this latest offering by the author of Still Alice.

Lisa Genova is a neuroscientist turned novelist. In Left Neglected, she paints the portrait of a young, upwardly mobile family. Affluent, career-oriented, and Harvard-educated, the husband and wife are juggling careers and family, as are their friends and neighbours, when a car accident changes everything. Life becomes about survival and rehabilitation, both for the accident victim and the family.

While you might expect this story to be sad and depressing, it really isn’t. It is hopeful, funny, and uplifting. Genova does a wonderful job of drawing the reader into this family’s life. I cared about them; I cried with them, and I cheered for them. As with the best stories, at the heart of this one is the testing, stretching, and strengthening of relationships.

I highly recommend this book.

(I have left neglected the other books we have discussed lately! Over the summer, we read and shared about two wonderful books: Secret Daughter and The Help. Both are very much worth reading!)

