Here are two posts from Octobers past, during our time as foster parents. I prayerfully remember my kids, especially one little girl:

October 2009 … from when she came:

Girls. They are different from boys. During the past month, two little foster girls have come into our home. Thumbelina has been here for a few weeks, and HM has been here for a few days. Since girls have graced our home, I have done some things I have never done before, such as:

browse the girl toy aisle in Walmart,

put ponies in a little girl’s hair for school,

rent the movie Barbie Diaries,

purchase matching Cinderella lunch kit and back pack,

call “time to go, boys… and girls”, and,

fold little pink things in the laundry.

Now, besides swords, Pokemon, and animal books, I am picking up hair bands, My Little Ponies, and naked barbie dolls. (Those girls just don’t seem to be able to keep their clothes on!)

As always, these precious little girls have very uncertain futures. As always, I’d keep them if I could. As always, we will just take things day by day.

As I told a sad little girl as I tucked her into bed on her first night in our home, “We are glad you are here and we will try our best to take good care of you.”

And, October 2010, a month after she left:

I was Mom to a little girl for a year. She left a month ago.

For a year, I tucked her into her bed each night and listened to her say her prayers. I took her trick-or-treating. I planned her sixth birthday party, and bought her Christmas presents, and went to her parent-teacher interviews, and clapped for her at her Christmas concert. I sang with her while we waited for the school bus.

I picked her up from a stranger’s home the night she ran away. We talked about respect and privacy and honesty and “appropriate behaviour”. I found my diamond ring in the pocket of her blue jeans, and my makeup in her backpack. We talked about lying and stealing and “appropriate behaviour”.

She told me I looked pretty when I was trying to look pretty. She noticed when I wore new earrings, or got my hair cut. She loved frilly clothes. She wanted to be beautiful when she grew up.

When she came to live with us, one of the first things she asked was whether she would still be with us for Happy Hallowe’en. She was a princess.

Life is easier now. Calmer, quieter, more peaceful. But I miss her.

*** It has been over a year now since my last little one left. She will turn eight on her next birthday. I don’t know how she is doing, but I pray for her, and the other children, often.

