I decided at the last minute, like, almost literally the last minute, to attend the Women’s Journey of Faith conference in Saskatoon on the weekend. The key note speaker was Lisa Bevere, who, frankly, I had not heard of before. She was wonderful. Strong, passionate, funny. It was a fabulous conference and I’m so glad I went.

I almost didn’t go because of the hassle going presents. I was approaching the trip like I was taking medicine! Okay, I’ll go because I recognize I need to be encouraged and this opportunity is here, so I’ll take it. And now I’m thinking, when did I get old and crotchety? Since when has going on an adventure become a hassle? I have always loved going and doing and trying new things. And this wasn’t even that big of a deal. A three hour drive, for goodness sake. And I didn’t have to do any of the driving or arranging or anything. All I had to do was hop in the van with nine other women and go.

Well, I had to change some appointments, and back out of a meeting, and miss spending time with my husband who is only home on the weekends … I mean there was some cost involved. But it was all pretty easy stuff to take care of, really. And my husband, bless his heart, was encouraging me to go. If you want to go, then go, he kept saying. And I thought, I am not usually one who needs to be cajoled into going along for some fun. When did this happen? Am I soon going to start complaining about my sore back, and fussing that I can only sleep in my own bed? Am I going to become one of those people? One of those people who misses out on life because of the work it sometimes requires to live life.

It has been a wake up call. Which gives me a really cool segue into the conference weekend, because the theme was AWAKEN.

Using such interesting analogies as Sarah Conner from the Terminator movies and lionesses from Africa, Lisa encouraged an awakening of passion, of mission, of concern, of ministry, of fierceness. It was truly fabulous, and when I find my notes, I’ll tell you about it. (I know, I know. Like, get organized already!)

Bottom line — wake up! Don’t sleep walk through life. Be stunning. Be women who give the enemy something with which he needs to contend. Be a little dangerous!

Therefore he says, “Awake, you who sleep, arise from the dead, and Christ will give you light.”

Ephesians 5:14

**********

Sharing these awakened blessings today with this community:

128. the ministries of strong, passionate women like Lisa Bevere

129. women who have personally influenced me in my faith journey

130. a Monday morning, fresh, to begin living a new week – awake

131. a challenge ahead that sends me to my knees

132. confidence

