I hadn’t thought of it this way before. Lisa Bevere, at the Awaken conference in Saskatoon on the weekend, made this comment:

Woman was created to solve the very first problem in the world.

I’ve been used to fielding the old, if Eve hadn’t eaten the fruit and made her husband eat it too, we wouldn’t be in this mess statement.

I kind of like being an answer better than being the problem. I like knowing that my very woman-ness is what solved the very first problem that arose in the garden. Up until then, it was all good. But when there was something missing, when God needed a special someone to make it all just right, he created woman.

Ah, the affirmation! The heritage! The … responsibility?

How then do I continue to be an answer in the world in which I live today? How do I make a difference for good, for God? How do I live a woman-created-to-be-an-answer kind of a life … now? In my home, in my church, in my community, in my world?

Women of faith, sisters, friends … there are so many ways to live our lives as the answers we were meant to be. I’d love to hear your thoughts. I’d love to sit together, hands wrapped around cups of tea and hearts open, sharing ideas about this whole living-as-women-in-the-kingdom thing. Wouldn’t that be great! I’ll leave you one thought, though.

We live lives that are answers when we quit living safe and we start living courageous.

There are lots of ways to live courageous. The Word is full of ideas. I’ll give you one to get you started.

Do the next good thing. You’ll know what that is. Do the thing God puts in front of you, and when you have done that, do the next. Just keep on doing the next good thing, and pretty soon you are walking in Him. In His purpose, in His way, in His Word.

How I’d love to know your next good thing! This is mine. I am calling a friend today, a friend I’ve let drift away, and I’m making a plan to get together with her for a visit. Simple? Yes. It barely counts as courageous, I know. But it is a beginning. And I know God will have some other things in mind for me down the road.

Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified … for the Lord your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you.  

Deuteronomy 31 : 6

