In the novel Wonderland Creek, by Lynn Austin, the main character, Alice Grace Ripley, is a person to whom I can sometimes relate. She loves to read. She loves to read so much, in fact, that she is missing out on her life and on the real world around her.

Set during the Great Depression, Wonderland Creek is of the Christian Historical Romance genre, which is not typically my favourite style of book to read. Austin does a commendable job, however, of blending romance, history, and a touch of mystery to make this a book I enjoyed. Alice is a believable and sympathetic character, and the mystery element adds enough suspense to keep the story moving.

Alice has just lost her job and her boyfriend. At loose ends, she seizes the opportunity to deliver some donated books to a small library in the mountains of Kentucky. Once there, she finds herself caught up in events she doesn’t understand and with quirky mountain people with whom she has a difficult time relating.

Something is wrong in the little town of Acorn, Kentucky, and Alice is called upon to help sort it all out. Along the way, she also sorts out her relationships, her ideas of God, and her sense of who she is as a person.

I enjoyed this novel.

This book was provided to me for free from the publisher, Bethany House, in exchange for my honest review.

**********

Book Giveaway

If you think you would enjoy this book,  just leave a note for me in the comments section of this post. I’ll draw a name at random from those who respond, and announce the winner tomorrow morning. You may leave a comment any time between now and then. I can’t wait to pop Wonderland Creek in the mail for one of you.

And thanks, really, for reading my words. I love writing them, and I am honoured that you read them.

