The kids are still in bed but my man has already been up for a while, working on that stinking bathroom renovation in the basement. That’s what we’re calling it now. That stinking bathroom.

No, actually things have been going really well. Renovating takes time and patience and so far we’re doing okay in both of those areas. There have been some challenges along the way but what did we expect, eh? It’s a fallen world we live in, after all.

It has been wonderful, though, to see all of my men working together to get this thing done. Really, it’s been great.

But what, you may ask, is the momma’s job. Well, you know, a little of this and a little of that. Keeping everyone fed and such. But my hardest job, by far, is what I’ve come to call Mess Management. Because change creates a lot of mess.

So, I’m the Mess Manager. I like to think of myself as a kind of fairy godmother, waving my magic wand (vacuum cleaner hose) and magically transforming the sawdusty surfaces in my midst.

And then there are the piles. Stuff that’s been moved from one place to another, to make room for the work. And I step around boxes and dressers and things that are not where they are supposed to be. And I stack and restack, trying to make it all more … manageable.

Yes, it’s a messy business. Most processes are. And living with the mess is not easy. But it’s temporary, and it’s doable, and sometimes it’s even kind of fun. The trick is to stop now and then and see what’s been accomplished. To look at the work that’s been, and the work that will be, and to thank God for this family and this time and this life.

And a hug now and then doesn’t hurt.

