You aren’t designed to work above your head. Your eyes face forward. That means you  have to tilt your head back and look up, way up as the Friendly Giant used to say, to see what you are working on. And your shoulders and arms are great for doing the work in front of you, but oh they get tired and sore when they are asked to do the work above you.

Working above your head is no fun. Just ask these guys. And it’s something you can only sustain for a short time. Because you weren’t designed that way.

Working within your design is the most productive, most joy-producing, most satisfying way to work. You can grunt your way through the rest of it, the stuff you weren’t designed to do, and you can even have a good attitude about it because it has to get done.

But whenever possible, as often as possible, do the stuff that fits you. You’ll be happier, and the people around you will be happier.

When I was 17, I read a quote that went something like: “If you live each day as if it was your last, someday you’ll most certainly be right.” It made an impression on me, and since then, for the past 33 years, I have looked in the mirror every morning and asked myself: “If today were the last day of my like, would I want to do what I am about to do today?” And whenever the answer has been “No” for too many days in a row, I know I need to change something.

Steve Jobs

