I have just finished reading Janelle’s latest blog posts and once again I am proud, impressed and humbled that she would want to do a blog with me. One of the reasons I said I wanted to blog with her was because I wanted to “finish strong”. As I read her post it’s toughest in the middle, I thought that is really what finishing strong is all about. It’s continuing to spend time doing – being in the middle. It might be shovelling my neighbour’s walk, making the morning coffee, driving my grandson to practice when his parents are both at work, or just being available to another person.

It might also be going to Mexico to assist in the construction of classrooms for Indigenous children in small communities in the Baja.

The two classrooms we went to build this year would have been finished without my help. I did saw and measure (sometimes in that order) and drive a few nails, but I received  much more than I gave.  In the next couple of blogs I want to talk about what I learned.

This year we met Victor, a small man with a very large smile, two young children, a grade two education and the desire for his children to have more.  He is the chairman of the Parents Association and exemplifies what it means to make do with what you have, to be gracious when you receive, and to do your part in making good things happen for your community.

At the end of the project we enjoyed a feast prepared by the community. Speeches were made, gratitude expressed and Victor eloquently summed up what had taken place.

Now our children will be able to go to school with dignity.

This year, once again, I learned about dignity in the face of poverty.

*** posted by David

**********

For more information about the organization with which Mom and Dad partner in their Mexico trips, go to True North Helping Hands.

Dad and I plan on making Tuesdays our day, so I’ll see you back here in a week, when it will be my turn to post on the My Dad and Me segment of the blog. Hmmmm, what should I write about?

