It’s a magical thing, isn’t it? When you really think about it. It’s holy magic. It’s so much more than words on a page. WORD became FLESH. Imagine!

It’s sacredness, holiness, spirit-ness … God-ness … with skin on it. Word, born to woman, raised in a home. Touched and fed and nurtured and loved. Shared. The most incredible act of sharing, ever.

People have been asking me lately why I do it? Why I try to put words on a screen and send them out there for others to read? Why I talk about women and stories and sharing? And I think of the Word becoming flesh, and I turn it around, and that is my answer, I think. It is flesh becoming word. It is that magic, that mystical precious thing that I can barely wrap my thoughts around, placed in my own hands, gifted to me to be offered to others. It is flesh become word.

If Jesus coming to people, if Word becoming flesh, if that ultimate act of sharing was about God putting skin on, then does it make any sense at all that the sharing I do with my life is skin putting God on? That the sharing we do, sharing lives and words and stories, sharing ourselves, is skin putting God on?

Next weekend I will be part of the annual Saskatchewan Sister Triangle Ladies Retreat. Women gathering in a beautiful place to hear about the beautiful stories God has written with our lives. Women who have been gathering, year after year, to encourage and be encouraged. And for one and one-half hours on Saturday afternoon, my friend Lorna and I will be motivating(?) these women to ponder some and write a little and share a bit, their stories with each other. And next Saturday, for an hour and a half, the flesh will become word.

The Word became flesh and blood, and moved into the neighbourhood. We saw the glory with our own eyes, the one-of-a-kind glory, like Father, like Son. Generous inside and out, true from start to finish.

John 1:14 (the Message)

