There is a popular video zooming around the internet. When I grabbed it to show here, it was on its way to receiving almost twenty million views and had been “liked” almost 320,000 times. Something this guy is saying is getting our attention.

So, I was surprised when I googled Jeff Bethke, the author, to find he was a member of the huge Mars Hill megachurch, pastored by the controversial and conservative and often offensive, Mark Driscoll. And I was surprised, and a little ashamed, by my reaction to this finding. My impression of this young man changed. I judged his message differently.

I’m not sure what I expected. Did I think he would be anti-church? Or maybe part of a small house church that emphasized justice and green living? At the very least, I guess, I suppose I thought he would be one of the people who disliked the message of people like Mark Driscoll. But he seems to be a fan, promoting Mr. Driscoll’s newest book as the imspiration for another video he has made about love and sex.

Curious, isn’t it, that my initial impression of this young man and his message could be so easily tainted. Shame on me. Especially since I don’t know him or Mark, outside of the representations made of them by the media.

 Since this is the kind of life we have chosen, the life of the Spirit, let us make sure that we do not just hold it as an idea in our heads or a sentiment in our hearts, but work out its implications in every detail of our lives. That means we will not compare ourselves with each other as if one of us were better and another worse. We have far more interesting things to do with our lives. Each of us is an original. Live creatively, friends.

Galations 5:24-6:1

