I want to use softer language. I want kinder, less abrupt words. But he won’t let me cushion it. Just say it straight, he tells me. So I will.

Lyndon was fired from his job last week. It is a long, complicated story. Or maybe not. But the end result is the same. Those with the power win.

I mean, at first glance it certainly looks like they won. But if you think that is the truth, then you don’t know my husband. And you don’t know our God.

My husband is a man of integrity and principle. He is the most loyal friend you could hope to have. He is passionate about what he loves, and he is passionate about what he hates. He loves his family and his friends and nature and beauty and hunting and his Ducati and God. He hates people who are phony or controlling or who use their positions of power to hurt others. He never fakes it, and he doesn’t do spin.

Which is why he has taken the rip-the-bandage-off approach to sharing this news. Because he is honest and he’d rather deal in truth than in half-truth.

What I’m finding, though, is that ripping the bandage off, although it is quick, isn’t painless. And after it’s done, I’m still standing there, a little beaten up, a little battered … bleeding a little, even. And he’s standing there, too, knees scraped and scabby. And it’s uncomfortable. It feels too vulnerable. I like the bandage.

People have been very kind. They’ve said the right things, and they’ve hurt with us, and they’ve agreed with us that it could have been worse, and that God can work all things out for good, and that, likely, it is a blessing in disguise.

I believe all of that. I cherish the promises of the God I love, and I am confident that this will be something we will look back on with thankfulness, and we will wonder at the wisdom of a Father who knows best.

But right now? Right now I’m in the middle of the story. I don’t know how God will work it out, or what the blessings will be. Right now it still hurts, and I just want to protect and comfort and nurture this guy, who I love, who has been so badly treated.

Right now, in the middle of it, all I can do is trust and hope, and thank God ahead of time for what the future will hold. Right now, I am working on counting it all joy. I’m working on gratitude and thankfulness and day-by-day.

But ask me about this in a year or so. In a year or so, there will be a great story to tell, I’m sure!

Consider it a sheer gift, friends, when tests and challenges come at you from all sides. You know that under pressure, your faith-life is forced into the open and shows its true colours. So don’t try to get out of anything prematurely. Let it do its work so you become mature and well-developed, not deficient in any way.

James 1:2-4

