It is breakfast, and in the midst of the porridge and the teasing and the Carter, sit down and finish your cereal and the jumping up to watch the cat chase sparrows in the treetops outside the kitchen window, in the midst of life, I read from that book.

And these are the words that catch my ear, that make me pause.

But because my servant Caleb has a different spirit and follows me wholeheartedly, I will bring him into the land he went to, and his descendants will inherit it.

It’s the middle of Caleb’s story. A crossroad. He’s seen the promised land with his own eyes, and he’s stepped away from the crowd and shared an unpopular opinion, an opinion that almost gets him stoned. The others are chosing safety and comfort. Caleb is choosing adventure and God. Caleb is following God wholeheartedly.

I stop for a minute, my children at the table with me. And I look around at them and I read the verse again, and I tell them this is what I pray for each of them …

But because my servant Tyson, and my servant Colton, and my servant Carter … has a different spirit and follows me wholeheartedly, I will bring him into the land …

Father, help me to raise wholehearted children. Help me to be the parent they need, to encourage them to stand against the crowd, to choose adventure and God over safety and comfort.

Help me to be a wholehearted mom.

