Last Tuesday, Dad wrote about women in honour of International Women’s Day, and he made a few points about what he respected and admired about them. He talked about women who lead, women who care, and women who overcome and succeed. It was a beautiful post. It made me think about some of the women who I know, and what it is that I love about them.

And it made me think about these women, and about myself, and about how women do things.

Most of the books I’ve read or seminars I’ve attended about things like leadership or spiritual formation or success (and I’m guessing it is the same for you) have been written by men. That’s not a bad thing. It’s just a reality.

I don’t know about you, but sometimes I get tired of theory and big words and this whole emphasis on new and different. New leadership techniques, new ideas about worship, new ways of thinking, new ways of doing. New words to describe the same basic ideas.

What I love about women, what I love at least about my women, is the enduring spirit that they hold deep within them. An endurance that accepts what is and that works at what needs to be done. I think that is kind of what Dad was talking about in his post last week.

I don’t know. Maybe I’m making something out of nothing. But for most of the women I know, it’s more about the cups of tea and the conversations than it is about any grand successes or accomplishments. Not that women haven’t had and shouldn’t work toward success or accomplishment. That is definitely not what I am saying. I’m just wondering if the working toward is different, in some basic womanly way, than it is for men. (Generalizations, I know. I’m just thinking out loud here.)

This past week I’ve spent some time online, looking for spiritually focused courses or workshops or programs on things like leadership or spiritual development or training, that are designed specifically for women. I found some good stuff. I read websites on training programs for people wanting to become life coaches or mentors or leaders within their organizations. But I didn’t find anything that was specific to or for or by women.

So what I’m thinking is that maybe there are too few resources for women out there. Not enough written or talked about when it comes to women and what matters to them in their lives. Not enough support or encouragement offered to women, in their womanly uniqueness, as they lead and care and overcome and succeed.

That’s what I am thinking. What about you?

