You may have heard me talk about it before, my grandma’s yellow bowl. I think of her every time I use it, which means I think of her almost daily. I love using this bowl, because it says so much to me about who she was. Practical, hard-working, loving, generous. All of this is summed up for me in this old, well-used, scratched yellow bowl.

Today the yellow bowl is mixing cranberry/oatmeal/pecan cookies. We love these cookies here. We love them so much that I always make a quadruple batch. Overflowing goodness.

This is my wish for you this Saturday. That whether your day holds sadness, joy, grief, laughter, pain, or peace … that you will somehow feel the connection, the love, the goodness that I feel from this simple, yellow bowl.

Ross Family Favourite Cranberry Oatmeal Pecan Cookies (quadruple sized)

2 cups butter

1 1/2 cups packed brown sugar (I’ve been decreasing the sugar amounts each time I make this, and will likely decrease again next time.)

1 1/2 cups white sugar

4 eggs (or three, if that’s all you have in the fridge ’cause you used the rest up making the morning pancakes)

3 cups whole wheat flour

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

1 tsp nutmeg

6 cups oats

2 cups dried cranberries

2 cups chopped pecans

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.

In your own personal version of the big yellow bowl, cream butter and sugars, add eggs and mix. Add flour, baking powder, salt and nutmeg and mix (I use my electric mixer). Add oats, cranberries, and pecans and stir with a big ole spoon. Drop by heaping tablespoon onto cookie sheets and flatten each cookie a bit with your palm. I make these babies BIG. I fit twelve of them on a cookie sheet.

Cook for about 20 minutes until the edges are a bit brown. Let cool a bit, and enjoy!

