The original version of this recipe comes from my old Harrowsmith Cookbook, Volume 1, which was published in 1981, the year I graduated from high school. The cookbook was a gift from an old boyfriend, the vegetarian one, and I’ve made many dishes from its well-worn pages. The relationship was short-lived, but the gift has been a treasure. The Blueberry Crisp recipe, found in my cookbook on the stained and dog-eared page 222, has been a favourite.

I usually make this recipe with saskatoon berries, but frozen blueberries were what I had, so that’s what I made. The topping is the one I use for any fruit crisp I make, saskatoon, blueberry, strawberry, rhubarb. A perfect desert, especially served warm and topped with ice cream. This morning’s crisp is for a friend’s potluck birthday party this evening.

Here’s the original recipe, with the changes I have made included in brackets:

Crunchy Blueberry Crisp

Filling:

4 cups blueberries (or any fruit – I usually use at least 5 cups of fruit.The more fruit the better, I think!)

2 Tbsp tapioca (If I have it, I use it. If not, I leave it out. The tapioca keeps the dish from being overly juicy.)

1/3 cup sugar (Today, because I had organic cane sugar in my cupboard, that’s what I used.)

1 Tbsp lemon juice

1/2 tsp lemon peel (This would probably be really good, but I’ve never included it. Just lazy, I guess.)

Mix it all up in a bowl, and add to a buttered 9″ square baking dish. I like to use one of my old wedding gift casserole dishes, because then I have a lid to use for storing any leftovers in the fridge. Also, I just like using those wedding gifts. I love that they, like the marriage, are still going strong!

Topping:

2/3 cup brown sugar (Again, today, I used my organic cane sugar.)

3/4 cup rolled oats

1/2 cup flour (I used spelt today, but I’ve used a variety of flours for this and they have all turned out great.)

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/8 tsp salt

6 Tbsp butter (I got tired one time of measuring out 6 tablespoons and figured out that 6 tablespoons is really close to 1/3 cup, so I use the 1/3 cup measurement now. ‘Cause I’m a lazy cook, remember? And I melt the butter in the microwave. Makes the mixing easier.)

Mix all the topping ingredients together and place on top of berries.

Bake at 375 degrees for 40 minutes.

I’ve had so many compliments on this recipe over the years. It really is yummy!

