It has been almost a month since I wrote my last blog. Since then Shirley and I have spent several days in California, holidaying and attending the Bible Lectureship at Pepperdine University. We listened to inspiring speakers, attended great classes, heard wonderful singing and learned. After we returned home we spent a week in Smithers, BC, visiting Shirley’s uncle who had just been moved from the hospital into a care home. I will share a bit about these events at a later date.

Last weekend our three daughters were all home to visit and help Trey, our oldest grandson, celebrate his grade 12 graduation. We honoured Trey, took family pictures, looked at old photos, ate lots of food, reminisced and laughed. A tear or two was also shed as we watched the handsome 6 foot 4 inch young man wearing a big smile posing with his parents, grandparents and girl friend. I thought of “my little buddy” helping me build a fence, snow boarding down our drive way and practicing his golf swing on our front lawn and was proud of the man he has grown into.

I thought back to the time I graduated from high school many years ago. There were 175 fewer students in my graduating class and no stretch limos to take us to the banquet but it was still a significant event in our lives.

Honouring achievements and participating in ceremonies that celebrate important milestones in our lives create memories. They help us remember how far we have come and point us to the future.

And so I say congratulations to all of the students who are graduating from high school this month. Remember your accomplishments with pride and look to the future with anticipation.

