Sometimes the internet makes me sad, and I’m not talking about the sensational reporting of murder and mayhem, or the obsession with celebrity, or the mining of human depravity for juicy headlines, although these things make me plenty sad. What I’m finding especially disturbing, rather, is the name-calling, fault-finding, insult-hurling that goes on, particularly by those who call themselves christians. It’s enough to make me want to change my name.

I read a book the other day. It was a beautiful, gritty, heart-wrenching, end-of-life book written by Brennan Manning. You might know him as the ragamuffin. This book, which I think will be his last, is called All is Grace and it is written like a faithful catholic christian making his final confession. A confession of a life of struggle and pain in the midst of a man’s journey to and with God. A confession before God and but even more, a vulnerable public expression of a notorious sinner saved by grace.

I loved this book for its honesty and vulnerability. When I was finished reading it, I wanted to know more about the man who wrote it. So I googled him.

Sometimes the internet makes me sad.

I found Brennan Manning online. I watched a few YouTube videos of him speaking, and I loved him again for his passion and his stumbling, fallen/faithful walk. But then I found the critics. The ones who would disparage, discredit, discount.

What makes us want to be like this? To point out what we feel is a fault in someone else? What does one gain from the calling out and putting down of another? Why do we label and ostracize? Where is the grace in that?

I might not agree with all of Brennan Manning’s theology. The fact is, I probably don’t agree, not one hundred percent, with the theology of the person sitting next to me in the pew on Sunday morning. But theology, friend, does not make a faithful life.

Grace and peace to you today, wherever you are in your walk.

