Have you ever wakened in the middle of the night and couldn’t go back to sleep, so with nothing else to do begun to wonder about important things, like: how would I spend all that money if I won the lottery, or does God really know I am talking to him when I lie awake and talk to him in my mind, or for that matter how does he sort out my thoughts from the millions of others who might be doing the same thing at the very same time? Why do despots in some countries kill their own people when they have the power to enhance their lives, or why does someone walk into a movie theatre and begin to randomly shoot people? When I get up in the morning and finish my coffee, which one of the things on “my get around to it list” will I do?

I must admit that at times when I sit in my pew at church I also wonder about things. Like, how will the things the preacher is talking about help me practice kingdom living in the coming week, or how will what we are doing help our little band of disciples impact our lives, our families, and our community? I sometimes wonder what would happen if all believers rallied around the tenets that make up our common faith instead of focusing on differences, and what would happen if we lived by Jesus words, “By this shall all men know you are my disciples, if you love one another.”

I also wonder about how I can deal productively with the time I have at my disposal. What I can do today to make sure I live out the vows I made to Shirley just over 50 years ago, and how I can encourage our grandkids as they begin their adult lives?

Today I am going to think about the easy things. What will the dinner theatre we are going to with our friends Bill and Myrna be like, and will the buffet be great or just mediocre. Will Bailey (the dog we are dog-sitting) and I enjoy our morning walk, and how I will enjoy this beautiful sunny day?

**********

Dad and I have been blogging together for a while now, and it has been a wonderful experience. If you would like to read all the posts in this series, click the My Dad and Me link at the top of the page.

This post of Dad’s has left a yearning in my heart. I, too, have soul-deep questions that I don’t know how to answer. My upbringing and culture tells me to answer the questions by more doing, but I don’t believe that anymore. Doing is good and necessary, but I know I can never do enough.

If you have questions of your own, or answers, or simply reflections, Dad and I would love to hear about it in the comments!

