This is Snowflake. I’ve lost track of the number of times I’ve had to help her get her head unstuck from the fence. Lately, it’s been every single morning. From the same spot in the fence. And, the grass isn’t even any greener on the other side!

What’s up, Snowflake?

I wonder if God laughs at me the way I laugh at Snowflake? I wonder if he thinks, look at her, why won’t she learn? Why does she keep making the same mistakes, over and over? Why does she push and push until she’s so tangled she can’t move and has no choice but to wait for me to help her?

Maybe it’s a Garden of Eden thing. A leftover yearning for the thing that seems better. Even if what I have is already pretty great.

I do know that after twisting and turning and pushing and grunting, after Snowflake is freed, she stands and pees for, like, ten minutes.

What relief freedom brings!

