If you walk through my back yard, swinging a pail, this is the greeting you will receive.

Yesterday, my husband and I made a quick trip to the city to run some errands for a friend. We found her at the hospital with her husband, who is ill. Her relieved hug and her God bless you were precious.

Yesterday, when my husband and I returned from the city, the boys greeted us with hugs and stories of the day. Gifts.

I am blessed daily with greetings that count. With a dog who wriggles out of his skin when he sees me. With goats who nuzzle my face when I milk them. With friends who care and say so.

Greetings are important, I think. Maybe more important than we realize.

I love the biblical greetings, the grace and peace be with you greetings. I love the sense of belonging and community that happens when I walk into a local store or coffee shop and I’m greeted by name. I love meeting a friend for a visit and sharing those initial renewing-aquaintace minutes that include a hug and those breathless how are you and what have you been up to questions.

My prayer, friends, is that today you will share greetings that are meaningful. That you will know the care and concern of a hello that is more than a rote Hey or How’s it going? That you will brighten someone’s day by greeting her in a way that let’s her know she has been seen.

It’s a little thing. But it’s a big thing. You know?

