A few weeks ago I wrote twenty-seven hundred miles, and I concluded it by saying,

“May all of us live in the moment and find ways to experience and worship Him.”

In recent weeks I have visited two friends who have gone to live in special care homes because they are dealing with dementia, and their wives of many years are unable to provide any longer the care they need. One of the friends I visited was a bit agitated. He paced and wondered what he should do next.

The other one sat quietly, and when we talked about where he was born and grew up he smiled and remembered the names of people he had known long ago.

I felt for my friends, but I felt even more for the women who loved them and had experienced life with them.

And I was reminded once again about the importance of living in the moment. We don’t know what turns life will take. We can’t change the past or determine what will happen in the future, but we can choose to live in the moment.

As I live in the moment I want to:

love well

enjoy our children and grandchildren

be optimistic

appreciate beauty

make the little space I live in better because I live there

value simple things

forgive when needed

live in the present with hope

**********

Janelle here. I can’t help myself. I have to add a bit to what Dad has written so beautifully. First of all, it snowed here for the first time this winter, and I am totally drooling over the picture of Dad and Bailey, out for a summer walk on what looks like a lovely warm day!

Snow. Brrr.

Dad’s post today, which is part of the My Dad and Me series that Dad and I write together, fits so wonderfully into my 31 days to loving my home series. (You can find links to both of these series of posts at the top of the page.)

The reminder to live in the moment, to take life as it comes and to experience it as fully as possible, is timely. It’s easy to not do this. It’s easy to drift and miss out.

What better inspiration to appreciate the abundant blessings of my home and family than to hear the stories of men, friends of my dad, who can live no longer in their homes. Who can live no longer with their wives. Whose very memories of home and love have diminished.

Can I just say here, for all of you to hear, how amazing my parents are? They spend hours and hours caring for, visiting with, taking baking to, meeting for coffee… so many of these precious elderly souls.

Thank you, Dad, for this reminder today.

May all of us live in the moment and find ways to experience and worship Him.

