Carter wrote this the other night. He couldn’t sleep, so he wrote this little manifesto and showed it to me in the morning.

(He does have lots of amagenashen!)

Now, I don’t know what your thoughts are when you read this, but these are the thoughts of the mom of a dyslexic eleven-year-old boy who has never in his life written anything not required of him.

YAY!

That was my first thought. And then, He wrote something without being asked. And each line starts on the left side of the page and tracks to the right. And not a single letter is written backwards. And he has written out his beautiful eleven-year-old thoughts, straight from his heart, and he wanted me to know what they are.

I can’t tell you how speshel this little piece of writing is to me. I will keep it forever. To remind me of my sweet boy, and to remind me of what’s important. Of what success really means.

How to really measure success?

The only way to really measure success is to not compare your’s to anyone else’s.

If I compared my son’s writing to many other children his age, he’d come up short. He’d not measure up very well.

But, compared to where he was at a year ago, he’s made great strides. He’s been very successful. He’s come such a long way, and I couldn’t be happier.

I mean, how can you not love a kid who devotes his life to God and fun!

So here I am, a slipshod housekeeper and mediocre cook, trying to love my home this month. It would be easy for me to compare myself to someone else and feel less-than. To feel that she is better than me. But, Carter has taught me so much about what it means to accomplish great things.

So, instead of less, I feel success.

Don’t measure your middle by someone else’s end.

Donald Miller

