My wife took this picture of the old shaving mirror and my iPad sitting on the counter in our ensuite with her iPhone.

In the morning when I am getting ready for the day I often look at the old mirror and remember. It came from England with my dad in 1922 and when I look at it I think of him and what he looked like, of his integrity and what he taught me.

As a small child I was fascinated by the mirror that showed two faces – one normal but one larger than life when it was turned over. My sisters and I would look in the “larger than life side” and make funny faces and laugh at how we looked.

When I look at it now, it speaks to me of my past, of childhood and of family. It was a thing of beauty, set in humble surroundings, and I was captivated by it.

The iPad and the iPhone my wife took the picture with are nearly one hundred years younger, and just as I was fascinated by the mirror many years ago, I am even more amazed today by the technology that took its picture. I don’t understand how it all works. How my wife can text our daughter several thousand miles away and receive a return text a minute or two later? How pictures can be taken with the phone stored on my iPad and then backed up on iCloud?  It is all a thing of beauty and I am captivated by it.

Some folks look to the past with longing because things just aren’t like they used to be and look to the future with trepidation. I appreciate my heritage and what I have learned from it, but I am happy to live in the present and be blessed by what it offers. I thank God for where I came from, praise him for where he has taken me and look forward to what he has in store for me in the future.

