As a testimony to the nearly constant state of confusion in which I live, I forgot that yesterday was Tuesday. The holiday Monday, I suppose, is my excuse. Yes, that’s it. The holiday Monday messed me up, and so yesterday, which was Tuesday, felt like Monday. All to say that I forgot that yesterday, which was Tuesday, was my Dad day.

So I’m making today, which is Wednesday (I think?), honorary Dad day, instead.

I share Tuesdays on the blog with my dad. Tuesdays with David, so to speak. These posts have developed into a series we call My Dad and Me. I love these conversations. I love being able to share words with my dad, and I love that the readers of this little blog get the opportunity to be blessed by what he has to say. It’s been fun.

Last week, Dad posted some wonderful words about Old vs. New. This is one of the things I so appreciate about Dad. While he cherishes his past, he is not stuck there. He may have travelled twenty miles through raging storms to get to school (barefoot and uphill both ways, of course!), but he appreciates the fact that now he can drive places in a vehicle with heated seats.

There is value to be found, both in the past and in the present.

As I thought about his post, and as I thought about how things change over time, I wondered about those things that shouldn’t change. Those things that I’d really like to remain constant. And I thought about a little word that Dad used in his post last week.

Integrity.

Dad referred to his dad, my grandpa, as a man of integrity. (My cousin May wrote a lovely tribute to our grandpa recently. You can read it here.)

So I was thinking about Dad’s post, and about Grandpa, and about raising boys in today’s crazy world, and I was wondering if  the whole idea of the word integrity is about not changing?

Not changing isn’t a hot topic these days. With the fast pace of our lives, with the emphasis on growth, with iTech changing, changing so quickly I don’t have a prayer of keeping up…

I need some anchors. I need some constants to hold on to as I raise my boys, as I raise myself, in these fast-paced times.

I’d like to think that integrity is one of those stabilizing, wrap-my-rope-around-and-hang-on, unchangeable things.

1. adherence to moral and ethical principles; soundness of moral character; honesty.
2. the state of being whole, entire, or undiminished: to preserve the integrity of the empire.
3. a sound, unimpaired, or perfect condition: the integrity of a ship’s hull.

 

As I raise my boys, I’m very conscious of this word. For myself and for them. And I’m thinking that while it’s a weighty characteristic and while it suggests stability, morality, and perfection, it still hinges on growth. Which implies change.

I can’t get away from it.

Perhaps what I hope will remain unchangeable, then, is the pursuit of such things as integrity. The desire for such characteristics to be foundational in ourselves and in our children. To work toward integrity, to maintain a desire for sound morality, honesty, and those things that contribute to an “unbreacheable hull”.

I’m thankful for those men and women of integrity who have influenced my life. I can think of many. None of them perfect. All of them, though, adhering. Clinging tight to the goal of honesty, morality, and wholeness.

Clinging to the One who never changes. Who is perfection.

Maybe this is the real definition of integrity. A rock solid grip on THE anchor.

Changing some things. Not changing others. But always, always clinging.

