In my last blog I talked about the old and the new. Memories emerge from the old – the new brings anticipation. But the experiences that triggered memories were just as new and exciting when they took place as what we are enjoying right now.

We are getting ready to create some new memories as we leave for the Dominican Republic in a few hours. The bags are packed and at the front door. And for the next 10 days we are going to enjoy sun, beaches, relaxation, new people and new experiences.  We are looking forward to ten new days and many new memories.

I want the memories I am creating now to be about laughter, new things, compassion, happiness for others in their successes, and enjoying being with the ones I love. I want to be done with past grievances, insignificant arguments and trivial differences.

I think the psalmist had some of these things in mind when he said,  “This is the day the Lord hath made, I will rejoice and be glad in it.”

