th

I listened to President Obama’s inaugural address and thought wow. I was not listening to critique his message. Others did that after he had finished.  I was listening to hear how he put words together.

This morning as I write about words I am not thinking about politicians, or people who make speeches because that’s what they do for a living. I am thinking about the day-to-day, boots on the ground conversations between people: husbands and wives, team mates, neighbours, class mates, people we work with and people we go to church with.

The scriptures tell us, “If you claim to be religious but don’t control your tongue, you are just fooling yourself, and your religion is worthless.”

I profess to be a Jesus follower, but words are sometimes said which I later regret. I expect there are times all of us have wished we had said or hadn’t said something. The good news is we can choose to speak words that are life-giving instead of words that dampen ones spirit.

And so today as I interact with folks along the way I choose to speak words that produce smiles, are hugs to one’s spirit, that encourage and make others feel worthwhile.

