I’m finding myself a little breathless these days.

Rushing, planning, considering. It can feel sometimes like life is just about dodging obstacles.

But it’s not. I’ve been reminded, yet again, that it’s important from time to time to stop and take a breath. To slow my pace and step carefully and look around. To raise my head from whatever it is that I think is rushing toward me and to really see where I am. Right now.

IMG_5228
Today I am slowing my pace. I am taking my time as I travel this sunrise-to-sunset. I’m conscious of the words I’m writing and the clothes I’m washing and the food I’m cooking. Being present, as they like to say these days.

Today I am stepping carefully. I’m watching where I put my feet, trying to avoid damaging anything in my way. Carefully lavish with my words and my hugs, and cautious of what might bruise or hurt or crush.

Today I am looking around. My eyes are fresh to the view. These big/little people in my life. This home. This work. All these minutes of sacredness and love and joy. I’m overwhelmed by the scenery of my life. Truly.

This is my journey today. Not a breathless race. Not urgency or emergency or a great long list, but a renewing, restful walk.

God, my shepherd! I don’t need a thing. You have bedded me down in lush meadows, you find me quiet pools to drink from. True to your word, you let me catch my breath and send me in the right direction.

Psalm 23: 1-3 (MSG)

