IMG_0269

When I was a little girl, I lived on the campus of a small, private Christian school. My dad was the principal, and my neighbours were school staff. My friends, like me, were staff brats. We rode the bus to town for school together, we played in each other’s homes, we skated and swam and rode bikes together.

And we trick-or-treated together.

Hallowe’en was so much fun, back when I was a girl. It wasn’t a big deal, like Christmas. We didn’t decorate or anything. It was just… fun. Some people gave homemade treats. Some handed out handfuls of that horrible, pull-your-fillings-right-out-of-your-teeth taffy. Some, like sweet Mr. Young, gave extra if you sang or said a poem or something.

I don’t remember ever feeling like it was something we shouldn’t do. It wasn’t until I had kids of my own that I even realized there were Christians who didn’t do it. Because of its historical rooted-ness in occultism, or something. They do other kinds of parties, or boycott the holiday altogether, some even taking their kids out of school for the day.

I’m not mocking that. I’ve just never felt that strongly about it. My kids loved Hallowe’en. Of course they did.

Now, though, Hallowe’en faces a new danger. From the foodies. Who are trying to make it – gasp – healthy.

What? No more tiny chocolate bars, or rubbery eyeball gum, or caramel corn? Really? We’re going with boiled egg eyeballs instead?

Let me be clear. Some of my best friends are foodies. They are wonderful people from whom I’ve learned a lot about probiotic this and organic that. They are passionate and, well, religious about their food beliefs.

But Hallowe’en, guys? Hasn’t it suffered enough already?

What do you think? Should Hallowe’en be healthy?

