IMG_8930

I’ve always heard that it’s bad to be on the fence. Being on the fence is wishy-washy. Choose a side, already. Being on the fence is wrapped up in the whole being lukewarm and getting spit out of the holy mouth of God sermons that I’ve heard my whole life.

There’s something to be said for choosing a side. Sometimes.

But it takes faith to walk a fence. To walk between extremes and still get somewhere.

I’m of the opinion that it’s not necessary to live in the black-and-white of side-choosing. Because then its about being on the right side, and I don’t know about you, but I’ve chosen wrong plenty of times.

I’m thinking walking the fence is how I live in faith. Trusting God with the balancing, you know. And travelling with Him, wherever the fence leads.

Today, when I’m tempted to try to live in the certainties, I’m noticing the beautiful and exciting balance of faith walking.

