What would it be like to be ten years old and living in a new house with new people? I think I’d cry, too.

IMG_0125

Today we had tears. His and mine. His, for the mom he misses. Mine, for him and for all the children who miss all those moms. And a few for the moms, too.

And all I could do was hug and wipe wet eyes and tell him we would do our best to take good care of him.

I’m so blessed. I know that all the time, but I only remember some of the time.

I’m blessed with a wonderful history, a beautiful family, a home, enough blankets on my bed to keep me warm at night, food in my fridge – a turkey and a ham, even, waiting to be cooked up for a Thanksgiving feast – and a whole pile of other stuff that’s just there to make me happy and comfortable.

I am so blessed.

Today I’m noticing sadness and tears, and feeling the gratitude of my abundance magnified by another’s loss.

