IMG_2798

There’s a lot of pressure to write significant stuff on significant days. I don’t know about you, but at the end of a long year, I’m about done. It’s been 365 days, people. I’m ready to put it all behind me and move on.

But it’s New Year’s Eve, and I suppose that means it’s time to summarize or sermonize or something-ize.

So…

I dunno. I’m sitting here trying to think great thoughts, while the Christmas tree I’d intended to take down two days ago still blinks merrily away and the mutant laundry pile in the basement is calling to her cousin piles in the bathroom upstairs. I have beds to change and meals to fix and toilets to clean.

I don’t say any of that with bitterness in my heart. It is what it is, you know? It’s my reality, on this last day of 2013.

Maybe I’ll have great thoughts later. Maybe some significant stuff will occur to me while I’m fixing lunch.

Or maybe a simple day, at the end of a pretty simple year, is significant enough.

::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

If you are interested, these were the top five posts on the blog in 2013:

1. the coffee incident

2. So, families with small children… what’s a church to do?

3. how I wish I’d always live

4. all my friends are smarter than me

5. why I love the bad kids

Thank you for reading. Really. And Happy New Year!

