IMG_3105It’s one of those words we blow up and bounce back and forth like a balloon game, without really getting it. Or maybe you get it perfectly and I’m the only one who wants to take out a pin and pop the thing, already.

Can I just say that if you are a human person, and you are breathing, you are in ministry.

If you are a butcher or a baker or a candlestick maker, you are in ministry.

Whether you are religious or not, paid or not, educated or not, if you are in the world interacting with other people, you are in ministry.

Now you might be a great minister or you might be a terrible minister, but you are a minister nonetheless.

That’s what I think, anyway.

It’s all about serving, you see. That’s what the word means. And in the best of all worlds, in the best of all communities, in the best of all families … that’s what we do.

I’ve been told that all kinds of things aren’t real ministry. That foster parenting, or plain old parenting, or the job you get paid to do from nine to five… I’ve been told these things are not real ministry. And I think what is really being said is that ministry must somehow be ordained, or elevated, or whatever.

So here you go, friends. I’m ordaining you. You are the ones who will make a difference in your worlds, today. Go forth and be sweet.

Today, as I minister in my space among my people – in my kitchen and in the barn and at the doctor’s office this afternoon – I am hoping to be conscious of the significance of it all. I’m trying to be, anyway. I’m trying to really see and really serve.

Even with myself (hello vanilla candles and long hot bath).

Let’s minister well today, shall we?

And when we don’t, we’ll remember grace.

